Dating yourself

Three facts about me:

  1. I have a wonderful boyfriend.
  2. I hate exercise.
  3. I’m very impulsive.

When a few months ago I had a sudden burst of motivation when it comes to exercise (it was during the last exam period that I felt like my bottom and the chair had become one) I spontaneously signed up at my local gym. Two days later I desperately tried to get out of the contract but that’s a different story. As you might guess, it didn’t work.

So here I am, actually going to the gym. I’m not as consistent as the ideal version of myself would be but today I actually had fun during the step class. I always enjoy how I feel about my body after having exercised but this time I really enjoyed the class, too, meaning I didn’t have my eyes glued to the clock constantly, wondering why the time didn’t pass. On my way home I quickly popped into the supermarket that has just opened, bought a smoothie and a quarter of a watermelon and thought to myself: Hey, I’m really, really happy right now.

You might wonder what my boyfriend has to do with all of this. Well, we’ve been having this beautiful little relationship of ours for nine months now and in these nine months we haven’t seen each other for maybe two weeks in total. When he was away last weekend it got me thinking how healthy it is to be used to someone being there. Where do you draw the line between cherishing someone’s presence and actually depending on them to brighten your day?

So as I was walking home with the open smoothie bottle in my hand and the watermelon in my rucksack, I had the recurring realisation that it is important to date yourself first. Spend time by and with yourself every now and again and have your own highlights and ways to do your mind and your body a favor. I will try to get off my arse and make it a point to at least go to this step class every week and maybe get myself a delicious smoothie afterwards.

With that said, here’s a good quote:

„Figure out who you are separate from your family, and the man or woman you’re in a relationship with. Find who you are in this world and what you need to feel good alone. I think that’s the most important thing in life. Find a sense of self because with that, you can do anything else.“ – Angelina Jolie

Kommentar verfassen

